Sites to note while walking along the Meewasin Trail or canoeing down the South Saskatchewan.
View Larger Map
Trail Brochure (646 KB pdf)
Wanuskewin Heritage Park, located north of the City on Wanuskewin Road. Wanuskewin Heritage Park is a truly unique place to discover history dating back thousands of years.
Factoria located in the Silverwood neighbourhood was the site of Saskaoon's early industrial dreams. Robert Glass of Chicago founded Factoria in 1912 when he purchased the Silverwood Springs Saskatoon Bottling Plant from William Silverwood. Glass planned to turn the plant into a brewery and the surrounding land into an “ Industrial City”
Pollution Control Plant
Meewasin Park, located in the city's north west, is accessible from Spadina Crescent. The park features a warm-up shelter with washroom facilities, a playground, barbecue pits and picnic tables.
Capilano Lookout located in Meewasin Park, provides a beautiful view of both banks of the river. In the distance, you can see the city's skyline. Signs at the lookout point interpret valley history and our relationship to the river.
G.D. Archibald Park located on Spadina Crescent, is a great place to watch a soccer match or baseball game during the summer months. The park is the site of the Richmond Heights Kinsmen Playground, with a wading pool and small playground.
Meewasin Riverworks Weir, one of Saskatoon's landmarks, was initially developed as a water reservoir and regulator of water. Built in 1939, the weir is one of the Depression make-work projects. However, with the development of the Gardiner Dam in 1967, the weir was no longer necessary to regulate water flow. The weir remains one of Saskatoon's most popular visitor attractions for viewing wildlife and resting along the Meewasin Valley Trail. Presently 350,000 people visit the weir annually. In addition, hundreds of species of birds and other wildlife make their home near the water.
The Mendel Riverbank and Island Sanctuary is a quiet place to relax and enjoy the sights and sounds of the South Saskatchewan River. During summer months, you can often see beavers, ducks and pelicans from the lookout point and ferry dock. In July and August, the river bank is home to Shakespeare on the Saskatchewan, an annual theatre event.
Kinsmen Park located on Spadina Crescent and 25th Street, is well known for its children's amusement park. The park also features ski trails in the winter time, a playground and paddling pool, washroom facilities, picnic tables and a barbecue pit.
Ukrainian Museum of Canada located on Spadina just off the Meewasin Valley Trail. The museum is a place to enjoy a vibrant recreation of the Ukrainian culture in Canada through exhibits of folk costumes, kylymy and other weaving, woodcarving and ceramics, and pysanky (Easter eggs), as well as the story of immigration, depictions of religion and community life, and rotating temporary exhibits of cultural interest, fine art and folk art. http://www.umc.sk.ca/
Kiwanis Memorial Park located next to the Delta Bessborough Hotel on Spadina Crescent, is a tribute to Saskatoon's war veterans. A fountain honours the memory of those men who fought in World War II while the Vimy Memorial bandshell honours veterans from World War I. The park has washrooms (located in the bandshell), picnic tables, barbecue pits, and the Meewasin Rink in winter.
Friendship Park surrounds the Meewasin Valley Centre. The park is graced with a lifesize bronze sculpture of Gabriel Dumont astride his horse. The park also has several picnic tables.
Meewasin Valley Centre is a place to learn about Saskatoon's history, the South Saskatchewan River, and the future of the Meewasin Valley through fun, interactive displays. The Centre also provides tourist information and a unique gift shop. The Meewasin Valley Centre is located along the riverbank in Friendship Park. After your visit to the interpretive centre, have a picnic or hike along the trail.River Landing Riverfront Park The South Downtown will be the most exciting riverbank project in Saskatoon's 120 year history. It will be a focal point for Saskatoon in a unique combination of meeting place, performance site, and recreation area. The development has been a priority for Saskatoon ever since Raymond Moriyama's 100-year plan in 1978. With a consolidation of lands in 2003, the City of Saskatoon was able to put together community representatives and a design team to begin the development process in earnest.
Victoria Park / Boathouse is accessible from Avenue H South. This picturesque park is the site of the Saskatoon Badminton Club, the Saskatoon Riverside Tennis Club and Riversdale Pool. Victoria Park features a playground, picnic tables and washrooms located in the boathouse.
Water Treatment Plant
Sanatorium Site is the site of the former Saskatoon Tuberculosis Sanatorium that was opened by the Saskatchewan Anti-Tuberculosis League in 1925.
Bowerman House was built in 1907-08 by Allan Bowerman, one of Sasktoon's most prominent early citizens: its first postmaster, a member of the first town council, and the man who built Saskatoon's premiere boomtime office building, the Canada Building.
After 1925 the house was occupied by Dr. Boughton, who introduced tuberculosis surveys in the province and was the Superintendent of the Sanatorium for many years.
The house is located close to the Sanatorium site on Avenue K.
Queen Elizabeth Power Plant Originally a coal fired power plant now uses natural gas. The water pump house for the plant is the intake for the water treatment plant.
Richard St. Barb Baker Afforestation Area is a forest of planted trees. Mayor Sid Buckwald headed the project in 1960. Trees were planted in rows to provide a green belt around the city and habitat for wildlife. St. Barbe Baker was the “Man of the Trees” responsible for planting an estimated 26 billion trees in over 100 countries.
Ducks Unlimited Marsh adjacent to St. Barbe Baker Afforestation Area is a marsh surrounded by remnant natural prairie. Natural prairie is very rare. Over 80% of grasslands are now cultivated wheat fields.
Saskatoon Landfill Ever wonder where your garbage goes? The Saskatoon Landfill is on Dundonald Avenue, 1.1 kilometres south of 11th Street. Please watch for signs
The Saskatoon Landfill offers the following recycling opportunities:
- Used engine oil, oil filters, and oil containers at the Eco-Centre;
- Newspapers, magazines in the green Cosmo Bins;
- Old appliances and scrap metal are accepted and recycled. General tipping fees still apply;
- Lawn clippings and leaves are accepted free of charge for the compost pile. Branches are accepted as general waste and are subject to applicable weight charges;
- Christmas trees will be accepted free of charge after Boxing Day to the end of February; otherwise, general tipping fees will apply.
If you have items for the compost pile, Eco Centre, or clean fill (such as dirt or sod), please let the Scale Attendant know upon entry; if the load is not properly identified, general tipping fees will apply.
Facts: In 2004, the Saskatoon Landfill took in approximately 136,000 tonnes of waste. Over 86,000 loads of material crossed the scale.For more information about the City landfill visit their website http://www.saskatoon.ca/org/environmental_engineering/landfill.asp
Maple Grove, also known as Leisureland, is located upstream from the Queen Elizabeth Power Station. It is located adjacent to Yorath Island and includes a portion of the island. Vehicular access to Maple Grove is by the road that extends south from Spadina Crescent, City of Saskatoon. The property is within the Rural Municipality of Corman Park.
Maple Grove originally did not have a channel running through it. The quarter section of which Maple Grove is part of was intact when surveyed in 1903; however, the river channel meandered into the quarter section then deposited on the west edge forming Yorath island. This natural accretion allowed the owner of Maple Grove to retain title of the remainer of the quarter section on the island (very rare). The area was originally known as Maple Grove although there is some doubt that the maples are indigenous. The area housed a number of cottages at one time, but they all burnt downed prior to the 1950s.
In the 1960s, Mr. Mike Egnatoff and his wife developed the area into an amusement park with a ferris wheel, trampolines, miniature golf, playground, train, playfields, and picnic facilities. In addition, they developed a dance hall with kitchen and concession. A campsite for trailers was developed which turned into a permanent mobile trailer park with 18 trailer units. The amusement park was known as Leisureland. It was very active for 20 years, then except for the group picnics, hall and trailer court, the area became inactive due to amusement competition in town. The Egnatoffs built a new house on the site close to the river and near the hall in the 1980s. In addition to the trailers and the one new house, there is a shack that is located south of the hall at the base of the west bank. This building is the only building site on the lower terrace that is above the 1:500 year flood line. A root cellar mini hall was built to service the catering hall near the entrance to the property. This building is currently being leased to a group of artists.
The property is very rich in wildlife and wildlife habitat. Yorath Island contains prime examples of cottonwood forest.The most common vision for Maple Grove in the future is to provide an area close to the city where people can connect with nature through minimum development.
Yorath Island is the northern extreme of where you will find a standing Cottonwood forest. Currently the site is not accessible but can be seen from Maple Grove.
Poplar Bluffs is a beautiful conservation area to launch a canoe for a 3 hour paddle to Saskatoon. Along the way look for birds, animals and other natural wonders. You will be amazed at what you see. Vehicle access to site: Take 11 th St. W. to Dundonald. Turn south (left) on Dundonald and proceed to Valley Road. Follow Valley Road 9.8km to Poplar Bluffs Conservation Area sign. Turn east (left) off of Valley Road and follow the grid road 1.6km to Poplar Bluffs parking lot. Parking lot to launch site is a 50m portage. Cars may be left in the parking lot sunrise to sunset.
Open daily, sunrise to sunset. For more information call 665-6888.
Paradise Beach is located 2 miles past the Berry Barn on Valley Road. There is a beautiful beach for sunbathing but remember swimming is not allowed in the river.
Clark's Crossing was the site of homestead John Fowler Clark which both the ferry crossing and town site (Clarkboro) were named after. It was one of the original places of settlement along the river. The site is of great historical perspective as the base for Major General Frederick Middleton's army during the Riel Rebellion of 1885
Saskatoon Natural Grasslands is a unique urban park that shelters nearly 200 species of plants and a variety of native birds and animals. The site is also home to over 25 kinds of butterflies. Come tour the grasslands on weekends and holidays from June to August when the Prairie Nature Centre is open. The centre is located in Mother Teresa School, 738 Konihowski Road. Call the Saskatoon Nature Society 665-1915 for more information.
Peturrson's Ravine and Prairie Grasslands is an environmental success story. Restored after many years of abuse, this site features a unique bog. You will find a small parking lot just south of the ravine on Central Avenue. Please explore carefully as this is a very sensitive area.
Sutherland Beach is a great place for a stroll to see natural habitat and a gorgeous view of the river. Along the shoreline are willows and apens, upslope are willows and poplars which line the perimeter of Sutherland Beach.
Forestry Farm Park and Zoo located next to one of the many backshore linkages connecting the City to the Meewasin Valley Trail.The Forestry Farm Park was started in 1913 and officially opened in 1914. The Farm was dedicated to the propagation and production of trees from the prairie environment. Today, the Forestry Farm Park is a National Historic Site. There is an interpretive display in the Superintendent's Residence depicting life at the Sutherland Nursery Station. The Friend's of the Forestry Farm House also conducts interpretive tours of this National Historic Site. http://www.quadrant.net/zoosociety/
St. Joseph's High School On June 14, 1995, Meewasin and the Catholic Board of Education formed a partnership to "naturalize" the grounds at St. Joseph High School. The goal was to recreate a natural prairie landscape at the school, with students assisting in soil preparation, starting seedlings in the nursery, planting in the field, installing and preparation, starting seedlings in the nursery, planting in the field, installing and landscape fabric, planting and staking trees and shrubs, and mulching plant beds. In addition, the students would become involved in plant research, labeling and tagging plantings, and developing study activities.
On September 28th, 2000, approximately 900 students, teachers, and representatives from supporting organizations - including Tree Canada 's Urban Forest Diversification and Greening School Grounds programs, the Saskatchewan Outdoor Environmental Education Association; and SaskPower 's Millennium Grove Project - planted over 1,400 indigenous trees, shrubs, and seedlings at St. Joseph's.
On November 15, 2001, Meewasin signed one of its first conservation easements with the Saskatoon Catholic School System and students from St. Joseph High School at a student awareness day. The easement protects 5.2 hectares of school grounds in perpetuity.An outdoor laboratory, the school grounds at St. Joseph High School give students and teachers alike a wonderful opportunity to better understand and appreciate the biodiversity of our prairie heritage.
University of Saskatchewan in its entirety is part of Meewasin's jurisdiction. You can walk along the river edge for a great view of the river or through the campus and find a number of interesting point of view. The Varsity Ski Jump was built in 1931, enjoyed for 43 years. It was situated on the bank of the South Saskatchewan river on the east side near the weir. You can still see the site but the ski jump was removed in 1978. Innovation Place, a development of the Government of Saskatchewan, is one of the most rapidly growing, and most successful, university-related research parks in North America, building on the strengths of the University in agriculture, information technologies, and resources and the life sciences.
Canadian Light Source is Canada's national facility for synchrotron light research. With this light source the information obtained can be used to help design new drugs, examine the structure of surfaces for developing more effective motor oils, build more powerful computer chips, and help with clean-up of mining wastes to list a few. Further south along the trail you can find the Diefenbaker Canada Centre also located on campus. Just off the Meewasin Valley Trail, the Centre is a unique public facility which exists to explore the country's evolution with Canadians and their visitors. It accomplishes this through the preservation and interpretation of collections representing the life, interests, and times of Canada's thirteenth Prime Minister, John G. Diefenbaker. The Centre is a dynamic cultural, educational, and historical attraction which combines a museum, archives and research centre. http://www.usask.ca/diefenbaker/. Still on campus but found near College Drive is the Little Stone Schoolhouse. The Little Stone Schoolhouse was the first Victoria School built in 1887, at Broadway Avenue and 12th Street. Victoria School quickly grew to two buildings. After the third school opened in 1909 the original stone school was no longer needed. Thanks to heritage minded people, the Golden West Chapter of the I.O.D.E., with the support of W.P.Bate, the building was moved stone by stone to a site on campus where it is currently located.
Cosmopolitan Park / Lookout is an excellent location to view wildlife. The park has several benches, an upper paved trail and lower wood chipped trail (for hikers only). The Pioneer Memorial Cairn is located in the park near the Broadway Bridge. The lookout features signage interpreting the growth of the downtown from settlers' tents to skyscrapers! The park is one of the best bird watching sites in Saskatoon. Nesting birds take shelter in an understorey of Saskatoon bushes, willows, dogwood and chokecherries. During spring and fall migration, songbirds fill the region. In the evening, look for beavers and muskrat along the river banks or enjoy the sweet scent of summer's wild flowers. In the winter time, you might spot golden-eye or bufflehead ducks!
Rotary Park and Lookout is known for its public tennis courts and view of the South Saskatchewan River. The park features picnic tables and washroom facilities. In winter toboggans and snowboarders take advantage of the newly formed landscape. Also found in the park is the Rotary Park Peace Plaza. The Peace Plaza contains a custom designed Peace Prayer Pole designed by artist Doug Bentham with the words “May Peace Prevail on Earth” written in four languages – Cree representing Canada's First Nations; English and French, representing the official languages of Canada; and Japanese, representing the peace pole's country of origin. Peace Prayer Poles are part of an international network supported by the United Nations to encourage world peace. There are over 160 countries which honour this tradition.
The Marr Residence located at 326 11th Street East, is the oldest house in Saskatoon on its original foundation. It was also the site of a field hospital during the 1885 North West Resistance. The site is open weekends, starting with the July long weekend. Call 652-1201 for specific information.
Gabriel Dumont Park features a Métis theme to celebrate Saskatoon's rich cultural heritage. The character of the Park changes from a typical urban park to a natural prairie ecoscape. Gabriel Dumont Park has a children's play village and picnic tables as well as sheltered washroom facilities and a parking lot.
Diefenbaker Park and the Pioneer Cemetery provide great opportunities for viewing nature and history. The park has picnic tables, barbecue facilities and benches. Within the park you will find Saskatoon's first cemetery where our city's early Temperance Colonists were buried.
Western Development Museum located near Diefenbaker Park the Saskatchewan Western Development Museum (WDM) is the museum of social and economic history for the Province of Saskatchewan. http://www.wdm.ca/
Chief Whitecap Park is across from Grasswood Road. Chief Whitecap Park is named after Chief Whitecap who helped the early Temperance Colonists select a site for Saskatoon. This former "rifle range" has scenic hiking trails that offer a beautiful view of the South Saskatchewan River.
Cranberry Flats is 8 km south of Saskatoon off Highway 219.
Enjoy the sun and the sand at Cranberry Flats, a scenic, natural area with large beaches and a wheelchair accessible trail to a valley lookout. For more information, call 665-6887.
Wilson Island can be seen from the lookout point at Cranberry Flats. The island was the site of a Sea Cadet Training camp from 1943 to 1951. Back then, Cadets were transported to what was known as Shepley Island, by a current-driven scow. While on the island for two weeks of training, cadets were involved in many activities including swimming and rowing.
Beaver Creek contains one of the few uncultivated short-grass prairie sites in Saskatchewan. Beaver Creek Conservation Area is located 13km south of Saskatoon. A sheltered creek, river valley, and prairie habitat offer a diverse of flora and fauna for visitors. It is the microcosm of the Meewasin Valley. An interpretive centre and staff provide opportunities to discover nature during the four seasons along a selection of five nature trails. Public programs to enjoy are Moon Hikes, Perseid Meteor Showers, Heritage Hoopla… For more information call 374-2474 or 665-6888.
Fred Heal Canoe Launch Launch your canoe or kayak from here for a scenic 5 hour paddle to Saskatoon. You will be amazed at the bird, animal and plant life found along the way!
Fred Heal Canoe Launch is 20.5km by river south of Saskatoon. To access the launch site by vehicle take Lorne Avenue to Highway 219. Go .5km past Beaver Creek, turn right on Road 350-A. Proceed 2.5km west to bottom of hill. Turn right and proceed 1km to the launch site. Parking lot to launch site is a 50m portage. Watch for signs.